confession: i don’t read

It’s true. I try to read. I have an adorably optimistic stack of books on my bedside. But two pages in (if I’m lucky) and I’m watching the back of my eyelids or thinking about what I want for breakfast. Why is this? I used to love reading. One might even fancy me a bookworm. One time in 5th grade I lived in a tree in my yard for two days. i think it stemmed from a fight between my sister, Annie, I. Anyway, I didn’t bother bringing up essentials like H2O or dunkaroos. BUt I did haul about 20 pounds of books up into that maple. Or,  back  I when I was a wee thing in New Jersey, Annie and I used to share a bedroom. I was so sick of it that I lived in a box within the bedroom for 3 days. And while I heard 90210 playing on the tv, I was in that box with my flashlight reading.

So the point is, older sisters are terrible. But also, I found out why I don’t read anymore… There’s no rewards system!

Back in the day, If i knocked out an “Island of the Blue Dolphin”, I would get a few scratch’n’sniff sticekrs which I coveted so dearly.

stickers

or remember Book It? The program thru Pizza Hut that rewarded kids in their literate efforts with personal pans and hologram buttons?

bookit827D5BEFFFDE5FBEBFDD5DA58F86

Oh childhood, you’ve ruined me.

Leave a Reply

