im tellin ya, it was an oprah moment

last weekend on the way to prospect park, someone had put a crate of books they did not want anymore on the sidewalk- in true brooklyn fashion. there were at least 15 Catcher in the RYe school edition.. which I have never read. so i grabbed a copy and started reading a few days later.

the_catcher_in_the_rye.large

Cut to a few days ago I am switching planes in the atlanta terminal on my way to my folks place in florida. seated beside me at the gate in a sweet lil old man who interrupts my reading and asks if i like the book, if its still relevant, etc. he tells me that he read it in college, wont disclose how long ago that was, and tells me he wouldn’t mind reading it again. we board. i finish the book on the plane then walk up to his seat and hand it over to him to his delight.

i paid it forward yall!

* dont worry, i will be back with less adorable and more perverse ridiculous stories soon enough*

Leave a Reply

